2015 Blind Spot Series

ladyeve2

Earlier this year I signed up for the 2014 series of Blind Spot films. Ryan McNeil is the administrator of the whole project and I would like to thank him for keeping it alive each year. It’s a great way to keep the film blogging community together and for us, film bloggers, to cross off some important titles of our watch list.

In 2015 I’m going for more arthouse picks as well as some Hollywood classics. This way I know I’ll see them. So without further ado, here are my Blind Spot picks for 2015:

 

ALI: FEAR EATS THE SOUL (RAINER WERNER FASSBINDER, 1974)

AU HASARD BALTHAZAR (ROBERT BRESSON, 1966)

GIANT (GEORGE STEVENS, 1956)

THE LADY EVE (PRESTON STURGES, 1941)

THE LEOPARD (LUCHINO VISCONTI, 1963)

THE LION IN WINTER (ANTHONY HARVEY, 1968)

NASHVILLE (ROBERT ALTMAN, 1975)

THE SAMURAI (JEAN-PIERRE MELVILLE, 1967)

THE SEARCHERS (JOHN FORD, 1956)

THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE (JOHN HUSTON, 1948)

THE WAGES OF FEAR (HENRI-GEORGES CLOUZOT, 1953)

A WOMAN UNDER THE INFLUENCE (JOHN CASSAVETES, 1974)

What do you think of my list? Have you seen any of them?

4 comments

  1. Nice list! I’ve seen eight of them, including Wages of Fear (my blind spot for November). You’re in for a great year. I love Le Samourai, The Lady Eve, and The Treasure of the Sierra Madre in general. All are well known but don’t have such a reputation that you’ll be let down. You can’t go wrong with The Searchers either. Gena Rowlands in a Woman Under the Influence is something to see. Looking forward to your thoughts on these films!

    Like

  2. I love Treasure, Woman Under The Influence, Wages of Fear. Many of these I would label great films, so I hope you feel the same once you’ve seen them. Also I see you’ll be watching Nashville which I will be too! The only I had a lukewarm reaction to is The Searchers, although I know it ‘s high on many best westerns of all-time lists, so maybe it’s just me who finds it overrated. Look forward to the reviews anyway!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

